How to Join

If you are >16 years of age, you can join online.

You will need to verify your identity and address, identity & then upload your proof of address & PPSN. Junior Members aged 15 & under must join in their local branch.

You can still call in person to any of our offices with your photo ID, proof of address (dated within the last 6 months) and your PPS number (on official documentation) and a member of staff will go through the application process with you. Please allow at least 20 minutes of your time for this.

To open a junior account (for 15 year olds & younger), you need a birth certificate or passport, PPS number on official documentation, proof of parent’s identification, e.g. passport, driving licence and proof of parent’s address, e.g. current utility bill (within the last 6 months)

Membership of St. Canice’s Credit Union is open to anyone & their family members who live or work within our Common Bond. A child or step child (under the age of 18) of an existing St. Canice’s Credit Union account holder, who does not live in the common bond area can join, once they are resident in the Republic of Ireland.

What is the ‘Common Bond’?

This is what unites all members of a Credit Union. The Common Bond defines the geographic area in which we can operate as a community credit union. Any person and their family members who are living or working in the following areas are eligible for membership;

  • Kilkenny City and surrounding townlands of; Clara, Tullaroan, Kilmanagh, Danesfort, Freshford, Dunnamaggin, Aghavillar, Windgap and the townslands of Stoneyford and Ballyfoyle.
  • Ballyragget, Co. Kilkenny: The parishes of Ballyragget, Lisdowney, Conahy and Lismaine and the postal districts out as far as Freshford.
  • Graignamanagh, Co. Kilkenny: This is the parish of Graignamanagh plus five miles on the Carlow side of the bridge. The townslands on the Carlow side of the bridge include Carrigleade, Tincurry, Bahana, Glyn, Ballymurphy, Ballykeenan, Harristown, Newtown, Ballyroughan, Tinnacarrig, Rocksavage, Seskin, Inch, Lacken, Clanagh, Mullanaskeagh, Ballyglisheen, Goolin, Slievedurda, Ballybeg Big, Ballybeg Little, Marley, Coolyhune, Ballyblake, Ballylyng and Aughnaglear.
  • Callan, Co. Kilkenny: Parishes of Callan along with the parishes of Ballingarry, Mullinahone, Dunnamaggin (includes Windgap), Danesfort, Kilmanagh.
  • Piltown, Co. Kilkenny: Parishes of Ardclone, Fiddown, Turkstown, Clonmore, Graigavine, Clonconey, Cashel, Tobernabrone, Harristown, Kilmogue, Mullenbeg, Curroughmore, Ballinalinagh, Tullahought, Kilmacoliver, Owning, Templeorum, Birchwood, Skough, Castletown, Whitechurch, Killonerry and Tybroughney.
  • Bagenalstown, Co. Carlow: including Oldleighlin, Leighlinbridge, Ballinabranagh, Milford, Nurney, Fenagh, Garyhill, Ballinkillen, Myshall, Borris, Goresbridge, Gowran and Paulstown.
  • Durrow, Co. Laois; area bounded by and including the following townslands: Glebe, Grennan, Raheenduff, Gurraun, Brandra, Watercastle, Stewartsgrove, Dunmore, Kyle, Coolderry, Ballacolla, The Heath, Rathmakelly, Ballygarven, Newtown, Ballynevin, Parknahown, Scrubb, Spaquarter, Bunlacken, Aharney, Archestown, Seskin and Ballynaslee.
  • Mountrath, Co. Laois: The Mountrath area covering a six mile radius from the town including the parishes of Camross, Coolrain, Pike of Rushall, Castletown, Bandra, Kilbricken, Shean, Pallas, Ballyfin, The Oak, Ballyhupahaun and Curragh and also touching the edge of Portlaoise and Borris in Ossory.
  • Rathdowney, Co. Laois: The common bond covers a radius of 6 miles from the Bridge in the town.This covers the parishes of Rathdowney/Errill, part of Galmoy, Cullohill and Aghaboe. The common bond incorporates the Electoral Divisions of Ballybrophy, Clonmore, Cuffsborough, Cullahill, Donaghmore, Errill, Galmoy, Glashure, Grantstown, Kilcoke, Kildellig, Killernogh, Kilnaseer, Kyle South, Moneenalassa, Rathdowney and Rathsaran.
  • Ballingarry, Co. Tipperary.